Better than I

Joseph_king_dreams

As I was talking to a dear friend about the situations we’re both individually facing, I was suddenly reminded of a song from the movie Joseph:King of Dreams by DreamWorks. I highly recommend this show – it’s as good as The Prince of Egypt, if you’ve watched that one.

Anyhoo, did a bit of research for the song title and singer for the song I was looking for and the song is entitled “Better than I” by David Campbell.

Joseph sings this (the movie’s a musical) when he’s imprisoned for attempting to harass his employer’s wife (He was framed by her). So he’s pretty much stuck in a situation where there’s a high chance he’d be in prison for life or could be sentenced to death. It was something he did not do and his bright future has pretty much gone down the drain. In short, he’s in a bad state. Then this song comes along, where he sings that God knows more than he will ever know, He knows why he’s there and what’s in store for him. It never fails to make me tear every time I watch that part of the movie.

It sort of reminded me about the things I’ve gone through and am going through now. I don’t understand them. I don’t. But He does. He knows why, He knows when, He knows it all.

He knows better than I.

I thought I did what’s right
I thought I had the answers
I thought I chose the surest road
But that road brought me here
So I put up a fight
And told You how to help me
Now just when I have given up
The truth is coming clear

You know better than I
You know the way
I’ve let go the need to know why
For You know better than I

If this has been a test
I cannot see the reason
But maybe knowing I don’t know
Is part of getting through
I try to do what’s best
And faith has made it easy
To see the best thing I can do
Is put my trust in You

For You know better than I
You know the way
I’ve let go the need to know why
For You know better than I

I saw one cloud and thought it was a sky
I saw a bird and thought that I could follow
But it was You who taught that bird to fly
If I let You reach me, will You teach me

For You know better than I
You know the way
I’ve let go the need to know why
I’ll take what answers You supply
You know better than I

I know I know.. a song’s pretty empty with just the lyrics to read without the music to go with it. I’ll try to see what I can do to get the music put up. In the meantime, go watch the movie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

