Smile at the Storm

Recently, I was reminded of a Sunday School song which I absolutely loved as kid (especially when it was turned into a game), which I realized was somewhat similar to Praise You In This Storm. It goes like this..

With Christ in the vessel, we can smile at the storm, smile at the storm, smile at the storm
With Christ in the vessel, we can smile at the storm as we go sailing home

Sailing, sailing home, sailing, sailing home
With Christ in the vessel, we can smile at the storm as we go sailing home!

The more and more I thought about the song and its lyrics, it dawned upon me that such a simple and fun children’s song was packed with so much of Bible truth…and the kind of truth most difficult to swallow in really tough times. I mean, think about it..tell a bunch of Sunday School kids that Jesus is with you and in the face of a big storm… and you can still smile through it all. Sure, that would be easy for children. What is storm to them, but bouts of thunder and lightning and heavy downpour of rain? Now, smiling definitely won’t be so easy in the face of life’s storms – sicknesses, financial crisis, economic slump, political instability, upset within the family equilibrium, backstabbing from friends, stress from exams (which I should really be getting stressed for!!), uncertainty of the future, career obstacles, depression, rejection…just to name a few. Can one really smile in the face of all that?

Yes.

With Christ in the vessel.

It will be hard… but possible.

Had a difficult moment recently and singing this simple song lifted me from the dark pit, reminding me that with Christ within me, even with falling tears and a broken spirit, I can still smile at the storm – because whether the storm keeps me or breaks me, I know my final destination anyway.

Because You are my help, I sing in the shadow of Your wings. My soul clings to You, Your right hand upholds me. Psalm 63:7-8

Leave a Reply

