My first…

 

…tooth extraction.

Sure, ask me why a lady in her late twenties would want to blog about her tooth extraction, let alone only having her first at such an age?

Doctors make terrible patients. Such a term becomes all too familiar among us in the medical field, simply because it’s true, well, especially when it’s me.

It all started when Adrian dragged me to his family dentist for a routine visit. I am very uncomfortable when it comes to going for a dental appointment. The last time I’ve been to a dentist was shamefully, at least 10 years ago. So life was good, no toothache, thus there’s no need to see a dentist. When I finally did go under the scrutinizing eyes of the man behind the mask, I heard the most dreadful words ever.

“Do you feel pain?” as he probed and poked into the depths and corners of my teeth and my gosh, pain wasn’t even a good word to describe it.

It gets worse.

“Ah! I see you’ve got a hole in your wisdom tooth and it’s the kind of hole that cannot be patched or repaired. We’ve got no choice but to have it taken out.”

I felt my heart fell into the cushions of my guts.

Oh no.

So we scheduled an appointment for our tooth extraction.

Yup. You read that right. Both of us needed a tooth extraction. We both have wisdom teeth that didn’t quite grow the right direction. Unfortunately for me, mine developed a hole because of a gap where food collected and couldn’t quite get cleaned out. Adrian bravely agreed to have his tooth extracted too although his wasn’t quite as urgent as mine.

The night before the appointment was terrible. I started imagining all the worse things possible and the excruciating pain which is bound to be felt after the procedure. Now these aren’t groundless imagination y’see. I’ve read friends’ experiences about how painful it is after the extraction although the procedure itself was practically painless. The side effect that the dentist told us to expect was trismus. Wow. Super assuring. I actually felt like an impending doom approaching. Can’t talk, can’t eat and just simply feeling a long term pain that will not go away. Oh by the way, as doctors, we came prepared with our own medications. Celebrex, paracetamol, tramadol, you name it, we got it. We even prepared midazolam for a PRN basis just in case I developed a panic attack before coming to the dentist. Haha.

So here we are. Right now, at the dentist and Adrian courageously went in first. As for me, I’m sweating and palpitating in anxiety.

Impending doom. Impending doom.

I’ll see you on the other side of the tunnel.

If I make it.

Leave a Reply

