Arise!

After the Sabbath, at the dawn of the first day of the week,
Mary Magdalene and the other Mary went to look at the tomb.

There was a violent earthquake, for an angel of the Lord came down from heaven and, going into the tomb, rolled back the stone and sat on it. His appearance was like lightning, and his clothes were white as snow. The guards were so afraid of him that they shook and became like dead men.

The angel said to the women,
“Do not be afraid, for I know that you are looking for Jesus, who was crucified. He is not here; he has risen, just as he said. Come and see the place where he lay. Then go quickly and tell his disciples: “He has risen from the dead and is going ahead of you into Galilee. There you will see him.” Now I have told you.”

So the women hurried away from the tomb, afraid yet filled with joy, and ran to tell the disciples. Suddenly Jesus met them. “Greetings,” he said. They came to him, clasped his feet and worshiped him. Then Jesus said to them, “Do not be afraid. Go and tell my brothers to go to Galilee; there they will see me.”
Matthew 28:1-10 (NIV)

Today’s Easter Sunday. What a joyous day to remember and celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ, my Lord and Saviour.

In 1991, my church was blessed to perform this really moving Christian musical drama entitled “The Promise” which depicts the life of Jesus from birth to His resurrection. Since then, when I was still a child, the songs from this play have always been very dear to my heart – particularly this very one called “Arise” – one of the most powerful songs I’ve loved and I really wanted to share it here with you this Easter.

There aren’t many videos of the song out in youtube. Here’s probably the latest available uploaded production of it (from 2005) in New York.

Rejoice, my friends. He has risen…just as he said.

Lyrics:
The clouds had not yet lifted, The tomb was sealed and dark,
The cruel cross had crucified the Hope of every heart.
The Son of God, the Lord of Light, by death had been destroyed.
And in the silence of the tomb, He heard His Father’s voice.

“Arise, arise, First Star of the Morning Sky
Come forth My Anointed One into eternal life.
Arise, arise, cast away death’s dark disguise.
My glorious Son, Victorious One,
In majesty… Arise!”

The earth began to tremble, the ground began to quake,
The mighty stone that sealed the tomb of death began to shake.
Then suddenly the darkness was shadowed by His light
As Jesus Christ the Son of God burst through the doors of life!

“Arise, arise, First Star of the Morning Sky
Come forth My Anointed One into eternal life.
Arise arise, Cast away death’s dark disguise
My glorious Son, Victorious One,
In majesty… Arise!

Come forth My Anointed One into eternal life.
Arise arise, cast away death’s dark disguise
My glorious Son, Victorious One,
In majesty…
Arise! Arise! Arise! Arise!”

7 thoughts on “Arise!

  1. I would like to know who is the song writer for this song Arise? I have looked it up on google a bunch of different ways and can’t find out who is the song writer?

    Thank you so much!

  2. Christine Farrall says:

    I used to have the whole musical CD with arise on it. But over time, because I moved a few times, I lost it. It was a beautiful CD. I was living in Hampton at the time, and I moved to look after my father. Sadly I can’t find it. I wish someone would produce the whole musical again. A lot of people would buy it.

Leave a comment